Anne Sullivan Elementary Teachers Receive Two Public School Proud Grants

Sarah Yee received $649.54 for her proposal, “Social and Emotional Learning through Makerspaces.” She will purchase bilingual emotions toys, LEGO education people, a puppet theater with diverse characters, world Memory games, and multicultural floor puzzles.

In her proposal, she wrote, “With this grant, my hope is that students will feel confident in their ability to communicate with others and work together in group settings. The manipulatives can be paired with SEL scenarios and scripts to allow for more focused discussion. I envision growth in their interpersonal skills, such as being cooperative, respectful of others, and persistent at solving problems. These skills will not only benefit them in the school setting, but also at home, in the community and throughout their future as productive members of society.”

Dr. Kirk Zeeck, Melissa Nielsen, Rodger Horr, Ashley Giesen, and Lisa VandeVoort

Melissa Nielsen and Kari Sheaffer received $1,759.35 for their grant, “More Books to Read = Journey to Succeed.” With these funds, they will purchase more than 300 books for first and second graders who need SIPPS (Systematic Instruction in Phonological Awareness, Phonics, and Sight Words) intervention.

In the application, they wrote, “Fun, engaging books that can be read independently will support the transfer of skills from our learning goals. We are finding new resources to strengthen our goals of obtaining grade level proficiency for all our students. Daily reading supports our vision to provide our students with a variety of books that align with independent reading goals. Engaging, eye-catching decodable books will enhance their desire to make reading a lifelong habit.

The Education Foundation has awarded six Public School Proud Grants, and they will announce 48 more before the end of the 2021-2022 school year.

Scroll to Top