Education Foundation Awards $100,000 in Public School Proud Grants

The Sioux Falls Public Schools Education Foundation is awarding $100,000 in Public School Proud Grants to 49 educators in the Sioux Falls School District. Any teacher can apply for up to $10,000 to purchase creative, inventive, and hands-on materials that are not financed by tax dollars.

This year, the Education Foundation has awarded grants at all grade levels and in multiple subject areas. Garfield Elementary received four grants, and the funds will be used to purchase coding materials (circuits and robots), a sensory path, and social emotional learning materials. Garfield staff members also received a grant to start an Art Club, Book Club, Cooking Club, and Science Club. Elementary students with disabilities at JFK, Susan B. Anthony, and Terry Redlin will use adaptive musical instruments like ukuleles, desk bells, light up tambourines, lollipop drums, and rain sticks to keep a beat, produce echo, and learn rhythm. Middle school students at Axtell Park will assemble microcomputers, and science students at Edison Middle School will use technology tools to access Citizen Science apps, explore augmented reality programs, and uncover fossils using 3D scans. English learners at Washington High School will use podcasting equipment to research, storyboard, record, and edit stories for publication.

The Education Foundation awarded 32 grants that will affect students in 25 buildings. The average grant award was $3,102. The largest grant award was $9,126.96 and the smallest grant was $349.50.

Below is a list of the 2020 Public School Proud Grant Winners:

Educator Name School Grant Name Grant Award
Carol Beldin 10 Elementary Schools Be in the Zone: Take 2 $1,329
Rise Jongeling Axtell Park Moving Mechanics for Middle School $2,969
Lindsey Rohde Terry Redlin Operation Osmo $2,793.19
Alison Labaire Garfield Makey Making Innovators $1,060
Heidi Reynolds Renberg It’s All About Engagement $3,115
Michelle Dykstra Memorial MS Morning Newscast $3,790
Anna Stambach Washington HS LifeSkills—Science Through Exploring $4,600
Mikki Haskell/Megan Hannemann Hawthorne Dashing to Success $9,126.96
Lara Hanson/Michele Blair Washington HS Podcasting for English Learners $2,914
Alyssa Vandeputte/Libby Bossman Anne Sullivan Hallway Pathways $1,500
Emma Nelsen Garfield Spectacular Sensory Strategies $2,323.69
Feterl, Weigand, Christopherson, Schildbauer Garfield Cultivating Leaders Through Clubs $2,228.33
Mara Colter Jane Addams—EIC Speak to Me! $8,897.46
Margi Orris Patrick Henry MS Sensory Room $4,837.05
Tyler Beisch Edison MS Science Beyond 4 Walls $4,834.99
Chris Coughlin New Tech HS Free Voluntary Reading Library $1,129
Kelly Pankratz Roosevelt HS ELD Annotated Novel Engagement $349.50
Kempf, Davenport, Monlux, Nelson JFK, SBA, and Terry Redlin Making Music Meaningful $4,549.47
Stef Hage and Cindy Breen John Harris Sustainable Outdoor Classroom $2,500
Terrin Haggerty SBA Sensory Path $1,500
Casie McFarlane Anne Sullivan Let There Be Light $942.40
Laura Preheim Eugene Field A+ Every Minute Counts $847.95
Leloux, Bertram, Lundquist, Williams, Pike, Rausis Jane Addams—ACE Working Together to Build Learners $5,976.93
Kendra Kooiker Pettigrew Hands-On Learning with Osmo $650
Brooke Weigand Garfield Healthy Hip Hop Hallways $1,500
Bierle, Freeman, Haddican CC, LHS, RHS, WHS Transition 180 $4,990.88
Jennifer Pagán Sonia Sotomayor Connecting Our Learning $1,500
Cait Haug Discovery Hands-On Literacy $650
Levi Tvedt Axtell IHT System: Heart Rate Monitors $2,566
Rickie McCaulsky CTE Academy Engine Assembling/Rebuild $8,665
Jillian Thomas Washington HS Enhancing Engagement in English $5,422.84
Nicole Highby Pettigrew GPS—Finding Our Way in Education $1,199.50

Generous individuals and businesses support Public School Proud Grants. Corporate donors include: Verizon; Graham Automotive Group; Independent Insurance Agents of Sioux Falls; Sammons Financial Group/Midland National; Sanford Health; Avera; The First National Bank in Sioux Falls; First PREMIER Bank/Bankcard; Raven Industries; Scheels; SDN Communications; Anthony Pizer—Thrivent Financial; Architecture Incorporated; CorTrust Bank; Cutler Law Firm, LLP; Dakota Sports; Davenport, Evans, Hurwitz & Smith, LLP; Eide Bailly, LLP; First Bank & Trust; Hy-Vee; KELOLAND Media Group; Marsh & McLennan Agency; Omnitech; POET; Reliabank; School Bus Inc.; Scooter’s; Sioux Valley Energy; Vance Thompson Vision; Wells Fargo; Woods, Fuller, Shultz & Smith; Closet Pros Inc.; Dakota Vision Center; First Dakota National Bank; and Kouri Insurance. The Education Foundation also receives financial support from the Mary Chilton Chapter of Daughters of the American Revolution Foundation; the Sioux Steel Company Foundation; the Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation; and the Midco Foundation.

Scroll to Top